• English
  • Français
  • Deutsch

Nicaragua

Organisation: SWISSAID, PCaC Jucuapa, PCaC San Dionisio, PCaC Darío and PCaC Odesar
Location: 4 locations in the North of Nicaragua

Project Objectives: - Improvement of food security and living standard of the indigenous population - Promotion of agro-economic technology and water-management - Transfer of knowledge about climate change and the contribution of agriculture and forestry to the reduction of CO2 emissions.

Fighting poverty and climate change through ecological agriculture in Nicaragua

Nicaragua is the second poorest country in Latin America and particularly exposed to climate change. It is hit by ever more and stronger hurricanes and tropical storms. Also, in large parts poverty prevails, causing an increasing extent of environmental degradation and thus adversely impacting the quality of life for humans and habitat. Agriculture in particular, the most important sector of development, is extremely affected by climate change. The situation is the worst for smallholders with little land and operating at a subsistence level.

To counter this situation, cooperation with SWISSAID was sought. The project is intended to guarantee food security for small farmers and to improve their standard of living, based on their resources and means of production. The project aims at achieving a higher agricultural productivity in consideration of the climatic threats. Therefore the education of local farmers in the fields of sustainable agriculture, environment protection, health, sanitation as well as the management of farmers associations is very important.

Farmers and young people will learn about agro-economic technologies in theory and practice. These result in less emissions harmful to the environment - especially CO2 and CH4 - being reduced and protection of water catchment areas protected . At all levels - also political - knowledge on climate change and the impact of agriculture and forestry on the climate is transferred, implemented by relevant activities. Furthermore, by switching to organic agriculture, an additional more reduction of CO2 emission can be achieved. This factor, called CO2 mitigation potential, has been calculated by the experts of Care for Climate. The calculations show that the farmers altogether with more ecological agricultural methods could save CO2.

Overall the project will produce the following improvements:
  • Reduction of CO2 emission by abandoning chemical fertilizer and pesticides as well as by improved formation of humus
  • Ecological and economical efficiency due to less external input required (chemical fertilizer and pesticides, hybrid seeds). This brings about a reduction in cost, energy and CO2 emission while improving the provision of the families with healthy produce
  • Improvement of soil productivity and sustainable use of water resources
  • Production of seeds adapted to local conditions of ecology and climate.

Around 1600 farm families will benefit from this project. For the resulting CO2 reductions Swissaid and Care for Climate offer vouchers to offset CO2 emissions and thus generate additional funds for the promotion of environmentally and climate-friendly agricultural projects.

For additional information: www.swissaid.ch/en/nicaragua

Are you interested? We welcome your commitment. Join us and make a contribution towards this social and sustainable project of CHF 20.- per ton of CO2 you emit. (In Switzerland the average is 12.5 tons per person and year).

* based on the study „Enhances top soil carbon stocks under organic farming“, Andreas Gattinger, Adrian Müller, Matthias Haeni, Colin Skipper, Andreas Fliessbach, Nina Buchmann, Paul Mäder, Matthias Stolze, Pete Smith, Nadia El-Hage Scialabba, and Urs Niggli PNAS October 30, 2012

ETH Climate Blog

• English
  • Français
  • Deutsch

Nicaragua

Organisation: Swissaid, PCaC Jucuapa, PCaC San Dionisio, PCaC Darío und PCaC Odesar
Location: 4 Standorte im nördlichen Nicaragua

Projektvorhaben:
- Verbesserung der Nahrungssicherheit und des Lebensstandards der einheimischen Bevölkerung
- Förderung von Öko-Landwirtschaft und Wasserschutz
- Vermitteln von Kenntnissen zur Klimaänderung und der Rolle der Land- und Forstwirtschaft für die CO2-Reduktion

Kampf gegen Armut und Klimawandel mit ökologischem Landbau in Nicaragua

Nicaragua ist das zweitärmste Land von Lateinamerika und den Klimaänderungen besonders stark ausgesetzt. Es wird immer stärker von Hurrikanen und tropischen Stürmen heimgesucht. Auch herrscht in weiten Teilen Armut und ein zunehmendes Ausmass von Umweltzerstörung, was die Lebensqualität von Mensch und Umwelt noch zusätzlich beeinträchtigt. Gerade die Landwirtschaft, der wichtigste Entwicklungssektor, ist am meisten von der Klimaänderung betroffen. Am schlimmsten ist es für Kleinbauern mit wenig Land und Subsistenz-Landwirtschaft.

Um dieser Entwicklung zu entrinnen wurde die Zusammenarbeit mit SWISSAID gesucht. Mit dem Projekt soll die Nahrungssicherheit der Kleinbauern garantiert und ihr Lebensstandard auf der Basis ihrer Ressourcen und Produktionsmittel verbessert werden. Das Projekt möchte eine höhere landwirtschaftliche Produktivität erreichen unter Berücksichtigung der klimatischen Bedrohungen. Wichtig ist auch die Ausbildung der lokalen Bauern und Bäuerinnen in den Bereichen nachhaltige Landwirtschaft, Umweltschutz, Gesundheit und Hygiene sowie Management für Bauernorganisationen.

Bauern, Bäuerinnen und junge Menschen lernen agro-ökonomischen Techniken und wenden diese an. Dadurch lassen sich auch klimaschädigende Emissionen – insbesondere CO2 und CH4 - reduzieren und Wassereinzugsgebiete schützen. Auf allen Ebenen – auch den politischen - werden Kenntnisse zur Klimaänderung und zur klimarelevanten Rolle der Land- und Forstwirtschaft vermittelt und von konkreten Aktivitäten begleitet. Mit der Umstellung auf eine ökologische Landwirtschaft wird zudem eine Reduktion der CO2-Emissionen erreicht. Dieses sogenannte CO2 -Mitigationspotential haben die Expert/innen von Care for Climate berechnet. Die Berechnungen zeigten, dass die Bauern zusammen mit einer ökologischeren Landwirtschaft CO2* einsparen können.

Insgesamt bewirkt das Projekt folgende Verbesserungen:
• Reduktion der CO2-Emissionen durch Verzicht auf chemische Dünger und Pestizide sowie verbesserte Humusbildung
• ökologisch und ökonomisch effizienter, da weniger externe Inputs (chemische Dünger und Pestizide,Hybrid-Saatgut) eingesetzt werden müssen. Dies bringt eine Kosten-, Energie- und CO2-Reduktion und verbessert die Versorgung der Familien mit gesunden Nahrungsmitteln
• Verbesserung der Bodenfruchtbarkeit und nachhaltige Nutzung der Wasserressourcen
• Produktion von lokalem, den ökologischen und klimatischen Bedingungen angepasstem Saatgut.

Gegen 1600 Bauernfamilien werden von diesem Projekt profitieren. Für die resultierenden CO2-Reduktionen bieten SWISSAID und Care for Climate CO2-Gutscheine, um so zusätzliche Gelder für die Förderung umwelt- und klimafreundlicher Landwirtschaftsprojekte zu erzielen.

Für weitere Informationen: www.swissaid.ch/de/mit-fruchtbaeumen-gegen-den-klimawandel

Interessiert an unserem Engagement? Wir freuen uns! Machen Sie mit und überweisen Sie zugunsten dieses sozialen und nachhaltigen Projektes CHF 20.- pro Tonne CO2, die Sie emittieren (in der Schweiz stehen wir bei durchschnittlich 12,5 t/Person und Jahr).
Email: info@careforclimate.ch



* In Anlehnung an die Studie „Enhances top soil carbon stocks under organic farming“, Andreas Gattinger, Adrian Müller, Matthias Haeni, Colin Skipper, Andreas Fliessbach, Nina Buchmann, Paul Mäder, Matthias Stolze, Pete Smith, Nadia El-Hage Scialabba, and Urs Niggli PNAS October 30, 2012

News

ETH Klimablog